image 1Macon, Ga. – Congratulations to Mrs. Amanda Gaskins-Morris who was recently named District President for the Georgia Art Education Association. Morris presides over District 5 which includes Clayton, Henry, Fayette, Spalding, Butts, Pike, Lamar, Jones, Bibb, Twiggs, Peach, Crawford, Monroe and Houston counties.

“I’m extremely excited about becoming a part of the board and representing District 5. The fine arts have always been a great passion for me, and I will dedicate myself to instilling this passion in as many adults and children as possible! My hope is that more independent schools will become involved in GAEA/NAEA,” commented Morris.

As District President, Mrs. Morris is charged with attracting new members who reside within her designated area, organizing her district as needed based on geographical size and number of educators in district, promoting and facilitating district, state, and national plans for annual conferences, Youth Art Month, Capitol Art Exhibit, National NAEA convention, and legislative matters.

“We are so incredibly proud of Mrs. Morris, and we look forward to the wonderful things she will now be able to accomplish as an advocate for art education in Georgia,” remarked Dr. Brenda Shuman-Riley.

This is Mrs. Morris’ first year as Lower School Art Teacher at Tattnall Square Academy.